top of page

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Things I hate as a wheelchair user


1 Stairs....

2. Unsupervised toddlers running around - hazard when trying to get round

3. Unsupervised drunken people running around-double hazard when trying to get round

4. People who park across dropped kerbs!

5. Broken lifts - need I say more?

6. The organisations that say yes i'm accessible - when in reality they are not accessible. no you are not accessible so stop saying your accessible as I cannot fly! Just because you are on the ground floor doesn't mean I can get up the four steps infront of the flat you want ot show me ! ( true story shortest viewing ever!) Stop giving me false hopes and get educated on accessiblity!

7. Slippy weather conditions

8. Negotiating cobbles/wobbly floor and loose paving stones

9. People leaning on the chair!!!! - May cause toes to be run over! - Firstly it is rude and secondly it is rude so don't do it! My chair is part of me so hands off!

10. Aireoplanes that assume you don't go to the loo - hmm two hours of crossing my legs (figuratively)

11. Cars and other random objects parked in the way of the pavement

12. Being almost ran over on the pavement by some jerk who didn't think to look below his nose.

13. Feeling invisable when someone tries to walk through you - i'm not a ghost!

14. Feeling like a statue when people stare at you - why not just treat me as a normal person and then we can get on just fine.

15. People who don't educate their children or let the children ask you questions about you wheelchair ( this isn't true for every disabled person so people don't like talking about it but I like to educate) If you discurage your children from talking to disabled people because you are worried they might say something wrong then you are perpectuating the fact that the person is different . Let the children talk and learn that we are just like them so that they can grow into adults that understand and accept.

16. Pavements that start accessible but then don't have a dropped kerb to allow you to get of the pavement to the next pavement - again false hope! it feels like either the money ran out or people just though yep there is a dropped kerb i've ticked the box...No you have ticked me off!

17. People who tell you stuff about wheelchair users that you know is not true and can prove it because your a wheelchair user and yet they still think that they are right...strange people!!

18. Unwilling bus drivers/ shop assistants etc - who tut loudly or complain when you ask for help to reach something or for the bus ramp! Why should we be made to feel like we are a burdon !!

But this all might sound frustrating and depressing but for every bad thing that happens someone smiles or helps you with a smile and willingness. Human kindness outweighs smallmindedness in the world so it is not all bad news x


The wheelthing

My name is Ann-Marie and this is my ramble in the hope of raising awareness of disability issues and perhaps a smile (hopefully)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
bottom of page