top of page

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Me against the door - the door won :-(

When I went out for a meal with my lovely Husband I didn't expect to accidently lock myself in the disabled toilet that was freezing cold at that!

Now I know I talk a lot of toilet but this was sort of my fault.

I struggled with the lock to close the lock I should have known that if I couldn't lock the door easily there is a risk that I might get stuck gettng back out.

I went to wheel back out of the disabled toilet and...tried to unlock the bolt and..nothing!! it was stuck fast! I hurt my hand trying to unlock it. My first thoughts were Great! as if I don't have enough difficulties in my life bloody door has beaten me!! Then I thought right got to get out somehow soon especially as i'm missing my cup of tea! (yes some how my cup of tea came to mind) I wasn't sure how long my husband would have waited before coming to find out if I was OK.

So I tried to ring him on his mobile - he'd forgotten his mobile.

So I tried to google the number of the pub I was in - mobile was taking ages so the next thing came to my mind was a non software option of banging really loudly on the door ! Thankfully that did the trick. Really didn't want to have to ring them up (petrified they would think it was a hoax well how many people get stuck in a bathroom?)

My lovely Husband shouted through the door - "are you OK?" my response was "i'm stuck the lock has got stuck I can't move it!" the next thing a group of people were outside of the door trying different tactics to try to open the door - trying different screwdrivers and debating how to get the door open. At one point they thought they would have to break the door down but thankfully with them taking the otherside of the door lock of it loosened it and Martin thought to ask me to try again and it moved and unlocked! FREEEDOOOMMMM! (very red faced) I moved out of the loo and got back to my nice (cold) cup of tea yuck after thanking the group of hero's I ordered some hot water to make a nice hot cup of tea and told Facebook of my escapades. Later I found out that the pub had given us 10% of our bill for our trouble!! What nice people - I now have a fear of the lock in question and used a bathroom without locking it today petrified i'd be stuck in there... But my hubby has pointed out that if the door is not easy to lock then don't risk it but I can lock it if the lock is easy to lock. Still scared tho'...... :-( I don't want to get stuck again not fun.


The wheelthing

My name is Ann-Marie and this is my ramble in the hope of raising awareness of disability issues and perhaps a smile (hopefully)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
bottom of page